Faculty
Joann Richardson, Ph.D. Associate Professor; Department Chair; Community Health Education Program Coordinator; Post-Baccalaureate Graduate Certificate in Health Behavior Coaching
Area(s): Community Health Education, Health Science, Health and Movement Sciences
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
jtrichar@vcu.edu
Edmund Acevedo, Ph.D. Professor; College of Humanities and Sciences Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health and Movement Sciences, Rehabilitation and Movement Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
eoacevedo@vcu.edu
Ronald Evans, Ph.D. Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health and Movement Sciences, Rehabilitation and Movement Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
rkevans@vcu.edu
R. Lee Franco, Ph.D. Assistant Professor; Department Associate Chair; Director of Exercise Physiology Research Laboratory; Director of Undergraduate Studies; Exercise Science Program Coordinator
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health and Movement Sciences, Rehabilitation and Movement Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
francorl@vcu.edu
Anette Loughran-Fjeldstad, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health and Movement Sciences
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
asfjeldstad@vcu.edu
Michael Pyles, Ph.D. Assistant Professor; Program Coordinator for Health Sciences
Area(s): Health Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
mapyles@vcu.edu
Ryan Garten, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health and Movement Sciences, Rehabilitation and Movement Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
rsgarten@vcu.edu
Susan Zacharia, Ph.D. Assistant Professor
Area(s): Health Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
szacharia@vcu.edu
Jeff Diritto, MS Instructor, Clinical Coordinator
Area(s): Exercise Science, Health Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
jhdiritto@vcu.edu
Matthew Scott, MS Instructor
Area(s): Exercise Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
scottm4@vcu.edu
Kristen Donovan Instructor
Area(s): Health Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
Zachary Sievert Instructor
Area(s): Exercise Science
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
Christine Booker Instructor
Area(s): Community Health Education


cebooker@vcu.edu
Jonathan “Kyle” Davis Instructor
Area(s): Exercise Science


davisjk6@vcu.edu
Kenneth “Ryan” Johnson, M.Ed. Academic Advisor
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St., Room 101
804.828.7612
johnsonkr5@vcu.edu
Emma Goodridge, M.Ed. Academic Advisor
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St., Room 102a
804.827.4841
goodridgee@vcu.edu
Seth Leibowitz, Ed.D. Executive Director, Health Sciences Programs and Advising
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St., Room 102b
804.828.1761
slleibowitz@vcu.edu
Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty
Antonio Abbate, MD, PhD Affiliate Faculty


antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org
Antonio Villa Payares


Deidre Whittle


Edwin Stumpf Adjunct Faculty


ehstumpf@vcu.edu
Heidi Hertz Adjunct Faculty


hlhertz@vcu.edu
Jacob Powell Adjunct Faculty


powelljp2@vcu.edu
Jennifer Cobb


Marcie Wright Adjunct Faculty


mswright@vcu.edu
Graduate Assistants
Aaron Slusher, MS Graduate Assistant


slusheral@vcu.edu
Anson Blanks, MS Graduate Assistant


blanksam2@vcu.edu
Cory Scott, MS Graduate Assistant


scottc3@vcu.edu
Justin Canada, MS Graduate Assistant


canadajm@vcu.edu
Lauren Pedersen, MS Graduate Assistant


pedersenl@vcu.edu
Austin Hogwood, BS Graduate Assistant


hogwoodac@vcu.edu
Bryan Blaylock, BS Lab Teaching Assistant


blaylockbe@vcu.edu
Gargi Bhati, BS Graduate Assistant


bhatig@vcu.edu
Jennifer Weggen, MS Graduate Assistant


weggenjb@vcu.edu
John Leder, BS Graduate Assistant


lederjr@vcu.edu
Kevin Decker, MS


Lindsay Lafratta, BS


Scott Schwartz, BS Graduate Assistant


schwartzcs@vcu.edu
Tiffany Zuniga, BS


Virginia Mihalick, BS Graduate Assistant


mihalickvl@vcu.edu
Staff
Monique Morton Administrative Specialist
500 Academic Centre, 1020 West Grace St.
804.828.1948
mortonmy@vcu.edu